2:01:53

Let me say it one more way….Two hours, One minute,  Fifty-Three Seconds….13.1 MILES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I am beyond thrilled with my 9.19 pace.

So let me start at the beginning.  True to my word, I had a carbo cram last night!  My sister and I made homemade spaghetti sauce and it was absolutely delicious and so much fun!  I loaded up on carbs, fresh corn from the farmer’s market, really buttery garlic bread, and about 10 gallons of water!  After dinner I felt quite pleased that my dinner would surely translate into a great run.  I went to bed around 11 but it was just like being a kid on the night before your first day of school.  Except in school there was always the opportunity to “not feel well” and there was no note from my mom to get me out of this!  I tossed and turned and could not stop thinking about running.

I’m not sure I really ever slept but at a lovely 5:30 AM, my alarm clock was beeping away.   I was so wide awake and full of energy that I scarfed down some cereal and even more water.  My sister and I forgot to wake my mom up so our 6:15 departure time because really stressful fast!  We managed to get out the door and greet my running buddy outside.  We headed downtown at which point I had my first break down — I forgot my pink sweatband.  The most important part of my outfit really because I have bangs!!!  Luckily my sister had a bobby pin.  No sooner did I get my bangs under control when the second break down occurred.  We were stuck in traffic….and it was now 6:50.  Ten minutes till show time.  Eventually we had to just get out of the car and head down to the start (which we missed).  It was so freezing cold outside (like 50 degrees) and I did not want to take off my sweats!  Here we are after we missed the gun…  oh and ps I am not sweating yet, I just dumped water on myself!  Notice it’s dark out :/

Disclaimer:  It was so early and we are tired and have no make-up on...don't judge we had to run 13.1 miles!

Disclaimer: It was so early and we are tired and have no make-up on...don't judge we had to run 13.1 miles!

We got stretched out and about 10 minutes after the start we decided to hit the trail!

IMG_7782

We caught up to the pack pretty fast and I could not believe that within what seemed like minutes we were at our first water station…two miles done!  I was absolutely loving the experience.  There were bands spread out throughout the course, there were people cheering, there were people slower than me!  It was so much fun!  We got to mile four and there was a girl laying on the side of the road…I hope she is ok — I am just so glad it wasn’t me.  We ran and ran and ran and around mile 7 my running buddy and I got separated.  I strode on and much to my disappointment my mom and sister were waiting at one of the mile markers and I didn’t see them and they didn’t see me!  They did see my running buddy though.

Before I knew it, the race was over!  I was running my little heart out for the last mile and pretty soon I was half a mile away from the finish line.  I made a final push, neared the finish sign and heard my mom and sister cheering for me!  I was so excited!!!! My sister snapped this when she saw me…

IMG_7790

I crossed the line, fists raised!  Still standing, still smiling.  I grabbed some bananas, apples, bagels and water and set into the crowd to find my fam.  Sadly along the way I dropped my banana and bagel!   I was under strict instruction from my family not to cry like I did during that 1K in 1992.  I have to say that crying never crossed my mind today.  I had so much fun and was laughing and smiling most of the race, including afterwards!  Adding to my excitement was the fact that they give you a medal when you cross the finish line!  And gosh darn it, we earned it!  One of my sisters (who was not here today) told me she’d believe it when she saw it.  When I told her about my day, she first asked if I collapsed and then asked if I cheated!  She’s just mad because… I beat her time! HA!

IMG_7793

In my euphoric state I even said….I think I want to do this again!  I’m not sure if it was the endorphins speaking so I am going to give it at least a week before I made any decisions.  But really, I did truly love every minute of the race.  I didn’t love every minute of the training but I’m so proud of us!

If this were a movie (or my carbo cram last night) Chariots of Fire would start to play when viewing this next photo…

IMG_7799

WE DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Much thanks to all those who kept up with my running and ranting (WOW that would have been a much more fitting name!) and also to my running buddy.  Afterall, this was her idea because she wanted a free t-shirt.  I’m wearing mine right now 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “2:01:53

  1. Chong

    I am so proud of you two! Wish I could’ve been there to chear you on!

  2. Bridget

    haha what a nice ending to our journey! Thanks Kate for being such a great running buddy. I couldn’t have done it without you!

    (I love the disclaimer above.. well needed)

  3. DAD

    Outstanding performance!! I am so excited and proud of what you accomplished. Wish I could have been there, not to cheer, but to run with you. Maybe next time?

  4. Kate, congrats again. I’ve loved following your running journey. And what a great feeling at the end for you.

Leave a Reply

