The Aftermath

In the aftermath of our race, I discovered something MIGHT be wrong with me.  I cannot stop thinking about running!  I’m not the same person anymore!!! To make matters worse, not only am I thinking about running when I’m awake, but I also can’t stop dreaming about running.  The last three nights I have had eight hours worth of dreams revolving around running.

I really expected to feel relief and pure joy upon completing our half marathon training.  But honestly, I had so much fun that I just can’t wait for this week to be over so I can start running again.  What’s wrong with me??? What have I become?  Is this how it’s going to be when I have my first child?  Will I forget about how miserable the long 9 months were and for some reason block out all the pain from child birth and then want another one and another one and another one???  This is sort of like that time I tried salmon for the first time and rather than having a normal portion of salmon, I ate the whole darn salmon!  I got so sick from the salmon and grossed out that I never ate it again.  So my prediction is that I’ll try to run again and I will hate it because it will be one mile too far, just like I had one bite too many!

I have to admit that I have secretly been surfing the internet (or not so secretly) for half marathons all over the country AND I’ve even been considering running a marathon.  I must be ill.  I fully expected to wake up yesterday and be in so much pain that I couldn’t take another step.  I felt pretty good though!  My inner thighs were the most sore part of my body.  To stretch out our muscles and loosen up, my running buddy and I decided to go on a walk (so I guess that makes her my walking buddy) after class yesterday.  We both showed up like this… unplanned!

pics 004

This was just too cute — we had to take a picture.  Anyway, during our walk my right foot started to hurt.  As the walk went on, the worse the pain got.  It felt like the side of my foot but I wasn’t sure.  Today I woke up and could barely walk on my foot.  I’ve self diagnosed my injury as either a stress fracture or plantar fasciitis (which I totally cannot pronounce).  I’m really not sure what to do about my injury other than stay off of it for the next week.  It’s strange that it didn’t hurt while I was running.  One of my sisters had crutches once though when she was like 10 and I thought that was amazing…so maybe I need crutches?!  Why is it that little kids always want injuries?  I always wanted to have crutches, or a cast, or a brace, or even a retainer (so much so that I made one out of a paper clip).  Now I can’t wait for this dumb pain to go away so I can start running again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

